Everything About Pokemon GO

Pokemon GO Everything about Pokemon GO Catch Pokemon
Pokemon GO is taking over the world, and that is okay with me.

I know, I know, a blog post about Pokemon GO? Really Crystal, you’re jumping on that crazy bandwagon? I am and I am not ashamed (because people shouldn’t be ashamed of what they like).

Hear me out though, Pokemon GO is amazing. Seriously, so much childhood nostalgia. Pokemon was my life all through elementary school (and probably longer, who am I kidding?). And this is basically as close to having real life Pokemon. Sure I have to look silly staring at my phone while I catch my millionth Pidgey, but this is something my husband and I do together, and basically I love that.

Pokemon GO is the latest release from the geniuses behind our beloved pocket monsters. By sacrificing your phone’s battery, you can wonder your hometown’s streets, parks, and monuments catching the original 150 Pokemon. Just make sure you watch where you’re going and don’t trip down stairs or walk into stranger (both of which I am totally not guilty of…).

There’s been some criticism—big surprise—that the game is lame or makes it so you’re not enjoying reality. But I’ve gotten out of my house in the last three days since I’ve downloaded the free app than I would have otherwise. And there are tons of kids doing it with us because it’s freakin’ fun!

We ran into so many students as we walked around our town’s college campus, and had totally awesome conversations about catching the rare Rapidash and how there are really are way too many Pidgeys (seriously, enough with the Pidgeys). Not to mention this was a great way to exercise. The game requires you to get up and find those Pokemon—you literally go catch them all.

It is in its early development, so I’m looking forward to the inevitable improvements on this goldmine of an app. There has been a lot of complaints about the weakness of the servers, but the developers had no idea it would open this big. There is also limited interaction between trainers despite this being an online game. You can’t trade or have direct battles with other trainers, but it is early and I’m certain we will get to see more classic Pokemon strategies in Pokemon GO sooner than we think.

So if you haven’t joined the tons of Pokemon trainers out there now, go give it a try. And don’t feel self-conscious, everyone else is doing it too.

Have you tried Pokemon GO yet? What do you think?

Xx Crystal

11 thoughts on “Everything About Pokemon GO

  1. I love this and your simple easy to read style! I CAN’T WAIT TO PLAY POKEMON GO!! Sadly, its not been released in the UK yet. (Which is highly unfortunate.) Really enjoyed reading this and it has made me SO excited for my social life to end when it gets released! L x

    Like

  2. I actually didn’t know much about this app until a few days ago while looking at my Facebook posts. Reading this post actually made me interested in trying it out. I could use a few friendly encounters and some exercise! Thanks for posting 🙂

    Also, if possible, I would really appreciate it if you could take a look at my blog. I did my first blog post a few days ago and just put one up today as well. Leave a comment and tell me what you think! 🙂
    https://yannamarie.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

